iPod classic suffering from fast battery drain?

Check out the support forum. Apparently many iPod Classic users are experiencing unusually high battery drain while their iPods sit idle. Firmware bug? or faulty hardware? My guess is just plain cheap products manufactured in China. The demand for iPod puts stress on production forcing Apple to scramble for suppliers of cheap parts. There should be no surprise that quality suffers when you try to mass produce a product like this.

8 Responses to “iPod classic suffering from fast battery drain?”


  1. 1 fulvio October 22, 2007 at 12:13 am

    I have an ipod classic 80gb and this is a real problem. Sometimes the hd keeps running even when i turn down the device, causing the battery to run out of power

    damn steve jobs

  2. 2 jtsmyth8 November 6, 2007 at 2:51 pm

    It’s a big problem, hopefully Apple will step up and fix the problem. But I wouldn’t hold my breath.

  3. 3 Paul_M66 November 26, 2007 at 7:39 pm

    My 80GB Classic has just run completely flat with just half an hour of use from a full charge. This has happened on a few previous occasions and the pattern seems to be when I’ve hit pause and left the headphones plugged in for a couple of hours. I have not had the problem when the headphones have been disconnected.

  4. 4 david December 20, 2007 at 5:38 am

    Happens to me but I found out the problem

    GET A NEW ONE

  5. 5 Corey May 19, 2008 at 7:03 pm

    I’ve had my iPod classic 80gb since Christmas ’07. I usually only have it on my Belkin wireless device for my truck, and I always turn it off. I only really listen to it when I’m in the car, but it seems that lately, no matter how long I’ve left it to charge, the battery is gone within less than a day of driving, and I’m only in my car maybe a total of 30 minutes a day, maybe a little more sometimes. I’m thinking of seeing if its covered on the warranty and sending it in to get the battery replaced.

  6. 6 bailzz September 2, 2008 at 1:06 am

    ok… i got my 80gb ipod classic last around last halloween. It worked perfectly fine until about 3 weeks ago. I noticed the battery was getting low, then suddenly it wouldnt even turn on at all. It just remains on a totally blank screen. It won’t register on my computer when i hook it up to itunes, and the only times it will turn on and work is if i hook it up to a dock. Even then the ipod get extrememly hot. I fully charge it, but when i take it off my dock and turn it off it won’t turn back on again..it doesnt even say low battery, it just remains black. However every time i put it in my dock it turns on and says the battery is dead. These are the only times it will work. Help me please!!!

  7. 7 dead80gipod February 27, 2010 at 2:24 am

    same thing happened to me as Bailzz, it won’t hold a charge. i sent it into get a new battery, and it will hold a charge for a little while, but if I let it sit for any real length of time, it won’t power up without being recharge. if anyone finds a solution to this, i’d love to hear it!

    • 8 David Craig March 20, 2010 at 2:40 am

      Same problem, Ipod Classic 80G worked great for 2 years and suddenly battery started to run from full to flat within 3 hours even if system turned off. Lowered brightness, never used cover flow so not an issue, charge through wall socket, reset about 15 times, no alarms, peripherals, etc, everything up to date, yet still the same problem. It’s basically no longer a portable device. I got 4 ipods and even my oldest has better battery life. Can’t find any solutions to this at all.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 29 other followers

Technorati – Blog Search

Add to Technorati Favorites

submit express


