Steve Jobs ‘MobileMe sucks’

In an internal e-mail sent to Apple employees this evening, Steve Jobs admitted that MobileMe was launched too early and “not up to Apple’s standards.” The e-mail, seen by Ars Technica, acknowledges MobileMe’s flaws and what could have been done to better handle the launch. In addition to needing more time and testing, Jobs believes that Apple should have rolled MobileMe’s services out slowly instead of launching it “as a monolithic service.” For example, over-the-air iPhone syncing could have gone up initially, then web apps one by one (Mail, Calendar, etc.).

Jobs goes on. “It was a mistake to launch MobileMe at the same time as iPhone 3G, iPhone 2.0 software and the App Store,” he says. “We all had more than enough to do, and MobileMe could have been delayed without consequence.” We agree with that one. (link)

8 Responses to “Steve Jobs ‘MobileMe sucks’”


  1. 1 Jim September 11, 2008 at 10:38 am

    MobileMe mail is always down. I can’t believe it’s only 1%. The rest of MobileMe seems fine. Mail sucks. Hope it’s better soon-

  2. 2 EMC SF August 5, 2009 at 9:46 pm

    What I CANNOT do with my $99 per annum Mobileme account:

    1. Set event reminders on my PC browser: I have to set the event up on my PC (quicker to type) and then go to my iPhone and set the reminder.

    2. Set an event reminder for more than two days out: Hello! I can’t send my mom a birthday gift in two days if I do not remember in advance. (See #4 for more)

    3. I cannot select multiple photos/docs to upload at once for email: A very tedious process since 75% of the time each new email loses connection with the server and has to be rewritten.

    4. Birthdays! Birthdays DO NOT automatically populate into your PC’s mobileme calendar. For some reason, my mother’s birthday is visible on PC mobileme interface, BUT NOT MY IPHONE!!!!

    ARGH!!!!!

  3. 3 Mail sucks ass August 21, 2009 at 1:16 am

    MobileMe Mail is a fucking piece of shit. Fuck you Apple, you fucking cunts. I’ve been a loyal user for years, and this is how you treat me? FUCK YOU. $99 a year and I get fucking failures every five minutes in mail. Shove it up your ass, bitches.

  4. 4 Censorship can eat my cock August 21, 2009 at 1:19 am

    Fucking removing my legitimate comment about Apple’s MobileMe Mail app. Fuck your censorship and fuck you.

    • 5 jtsmyth8 August 24, 2009 at 12:05 pm

      Dude, relax. I don’t check up on the blog over the weekend.

      I GET IT, YOU HATE MOBILE ME!

      No argument here.

  5. 6 IW February 16, 2010 at 11:59 pm

    http://mobilemeissues.blogspot.com/

  6. 7 bad apple September 2, 2010 at 10:38 pm

    MobileMe email system is complete rubbish: emails sent not reach tehir recipient with absolutely no message alerts to let me know about the failure. Emails just disappeared.
    This has been going on for months.

    Had numerous emails exchanges with Apple advisors but it’s just a pile of polite emptiness: nothing has improved, no explaination was given and no offer to compensate for the failure of the email system.

    I use MobileMe as my primary email address.
    I have to start all over: make a new website / new email address / new business cards / etc…

    I have been using Apple for years, aleways been a fan. Now I feel like I have been robbed and that Appl is just not what it use to be.


  1. 1 MobileMe Stumps iPhone Thief Trackback on December 21, 2008 at 4:19 am

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 29 other followers

Technorati – Blog Search

Add to Technorati Favorites

submit express


