Text messaging while driving ‘terminated’

Arnold Schwarzenegger has approved a bill making it illegal to text message while driving. Fines are $20 for the first and $50 for each subsequent offense. This should have been a no brainer. Phone usage has increased and it’s hard to find anybody not talking on the phone while driving. It’s hard to believe that there are some people out there attempting to press those tiny numbers on their phone while driving a vehicle.

I dread when my phone rings in the car. Should I answer it, distract myself, and risk getting into an accident? I check to see who’s calling then try to guess how important the call is. Ultimately I put the phone down and focus back on driving. It always seems that I get more calls when I forget my bluetooth headset. It comes down to a decision of convenience vs safety. In the end I will always choose safety.

I blame the younger generation. They have no fear. Growing up with technology all around them it simply made sense to integrate it into daily life. Multitasking is a way of life. However the dangers is some situations are never realized until disaster strikes. Hopefully banning the practice will make the road safer for all of us.

0 Responses to “Text messaging while driving ‘terminated’”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 29 other followers

Technorati – Blog Search

Add to Technorati Favorites

submit express


