Giving up on Vista 64 bit

I’m finally giving up on Windows Vista 64 bit. After getting everything set up, updated many drivers and tweaked the settings I’m going back to XP. The silly Seinfeld/Gates ads put Vista on life support but I had to pull the plug after several crashes last night. For no reason at all. Whether it was surfing, watching a movie or playing a game crashing became more and more frequent. Next to nothing is installed on my system. I wanted to make sure everything was stable before I started loading up everything and I’m glad I waited.

I got used to the annoying security settings. I got used to the annoying gadgets on the side panel. I got used to the lack of 64 bit support for many applications but I could never get used to the crashing. I have Windows XP 64 on an AMD system and it runs fine. For over a year now and is quite stable. Never experienced a crash on it. But I was wooed by the pretty Vista platform and fell victim to the scam. I learned my lesson.

Stick with what works. Don’t upgrade unless you absolutely have to. And by all means do not use Windows Vista, because it totally sucks.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 30 other followers

Technorati – Blog Search

Add to Technorati Favorites

submit express


