Review: Gigabyte GM-M6880 gaming mouse

giga01a1If you’re as click happy as I am you’ve probably gone through a few mice. Going through a cheap $10 mouse within a couple of months convinced me to go with a relatively expensive one. For the longest time I was a Microsoft mouse user. I liked the large white intellimouse, it was comfortable for people with big hands. Then I went through a few in a short period and swore them off. Switched to Logitech. I’ve gone through a few over the last 3 years and recently on the weekend I spotted a replacement which seemed promising.

side01Enter the Gigabyte GM-M6880 laser gaming mouse. “100 grams of weight perfect for gamers”. Among other things on the cover: DPI on-the-fly adjustable (800/1600), Vista certified, USB, ergonomic, did I mention it has a frickin ‘laser’? Some of the things not mentioned: 5 buttons, rubber side grips, grooves on the left and right buttons for your fingers, cable is 4.5 feet long, and a $30 price tag. I had no idea GigaByte made mice/mouses (what the heck is the proper term?!) so I decided to give it a shot. At first glance it looks very similar to the Logitech MX-400. Let’s hope if performs just as well.

side02If you’re a gamer you know that in stressful situations your hands get a little sweaty. The rubber grips on the side help keep you in control. The scroll wheel is textured to again getting a good grip is less of a problem. My old mouse had a slick smooth scroll wheel which sometimes was hard to get a grip on. The DPI switch comes in handy when you tend to get a little lazier in long games and mouse sensitivity adjustments are required. It let’s you toggle between 800 and 1600 settings. It’s a good sized mouse so that when I palm the mouse I don’t feel like my fingers drag against the mouse pad. I have no idea how people use those tiny notebook sized mice.

logi02I only have a few issues to nitpick. The length of the cable is a problem. I like long cables because I tend to place my pc relatively far from my monitor and mouse surface. So length of cable comes into play all the time and I just plain don’t like wireless devices. I used a 1.5 USB cable extension to solve the problem. My old Logitech MX-400 was a comfortable 6 feet in length with was enough for my uses. The weight takes a bit of getting used to. I don’t know if it’s really a 100 grams but it does feel a bit heavier than my old mouse. Once you get comfortable with a certain mouse sensitivity, change is never a welcome thing.

giga02The 4th and 5th buttons are up by the knuckle of my thumb. It’s kind of awkward to reach back with my thumb to click the buttons. Thankfully I don’t need to click them that often. Pricing is minor issue. To me, the brand names in keyboard and mice is Microsoft and Logitech, which I’m content to pay more for given their reputation. Without a reputation for building a quality mouse, I felt that GigaByte should have priced this a little less. I could have bought my old Logitech mouse for the same price.

What I liked: the the DPI button to switch sensitivity is a nice feature, the rubber grips on the sides, the scroll wheel has ‘tire – like’ indentations, size, no software required, familiar Logitech feel.

What I didn’t like: the short cable, weight, location of 4th and 5th buttons, price.

giga01Overall it’s a good mouse. It’s definitely a more than adequate replacement for my Logitech mouse. A very familiar feeling quality and some nice features to boot. If your mouse has recently broken and you’re looking for a replacement brand named other than “Microsoft” or “Logitech” you should give it a try. Now if I could just find a bigger mouse pad to match it.

16 Responses to “Review: Gigabyte GM-M6880 gaming mouse”


  1. 1 riku January 9, 2009 at 4:18 pm

    Note that, the glossy tends to get stick to those who have discomfort with sweaty hands. Good, cheap and value laser mouse but the material itself is the one failing the mouse.

  2. 2 bee398 April 2, 2009 at 1:56 pm

    I am using it~ very nice gaming mouse~ worth to buy~

  3. 3 elebert May 3, 2009 at 7:43 am

    can be used by left hand???

  4. 5 shaqmunak June 24, 2009 at 1:56 pm

    well i got this mouse today..

    from my opinion..this mouse is too high profile(the heigth)for
    people with rather short finger like me..maybe cause im not used to it.i love the rubber feature at both side of the mouse..the quick change button for thumb is quite good..for me the weight is
    kinda heavy( i feels like using a battery operated mouse)..the best thing of the mouse is the quick DPI change from 800/1600 dpi..no software needed just a click and ur off to go..very realible when surfing use 800 and gaming switch to 1600..ill try my best to cope with the mouse maybe need a week to make it compatible with my hand..xD

    • 6 jtsmyth8 June 26, 2009 at 9:30 am

      Unfortunately if you’re looking for a gaming mouse, there’s not much to choose from in this price range. If you’re willing to spend a bit more you can take a look at the Microsoft 3000 series for notebooks (if size/weight is an issue). It’s not technically a gaming mouse but it has 4 buttons I believe. Or perhaps take a look at the OCZ gaming series mice. They are kind ugly but they definitely get the job done.

      If it feels heavy now you probably should look for another mouse. The added stress to your elbow may become problematic in the long run.

  5. 7 filip007 September 17, 2009 at 4:11 am

    This mouse is very good i don’t see any problems with it.
    OK it’s not perfect high end gaming mouse but for regular use at this low price doesn’t get any better than this. Just buy it…

  6. 8 mFlorin December 17, 2009 at 6:38 pm

    Thank you for this review. I definitely buy this mouse 😡

    PS: Watch this also, for people who want to buy this mouse and want to see how it fits in hands: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_7pyf6Y5G_Y

  7. 9 joy January 5, 2010 at 3:35 pm

    There’s a big problem i’ve come across with this mouse
    If you hold both buttons for around 3-4 seconds it will switch the dpi sensitivity from 800-1600, just like pressing the middle button on the mouse for this switch
    I don’t know why it has this function , but with some of my games where i use both buttons to walk forward, it causes big problems
    I’ve tried downloading the official driver, but for some reason nothing happens when i run it in windows 7

  8. 11 chrisgrns January 11, 2010 at 5:46 pm

    i have this mouse 2 months now it fits great to my hand and is very comfort but… when i get into a folder or program, my pc scrolls down or right by itself. the same problem appears when adjusting the volume with it. the volume drops to 0 in a few seconds. this happens in windows 7 and vista but… in windows xp there is no such problem. Can anyone explain this? naaaaaaaaah!!!

  9. 12 Mikernet January 29, 2010 at 9:26 pm

    This mouse has a very noticable lag for any hardcore gamer. I have this mouse and it feels like I am using an RF wireless mouse. I can definitely feel the slow “response time.”


  1. 1 logitech gaming keyboard | Digg hot tags Trackback on December 16, 2008 at 12:17 am
  2. 2 build gaming pc | AMD.com hot tags Trackback on December 16, 2008 at 11:36 pm
  3. 3 Budget Gaming mouse - PC Peripherals | TechEnclave Trackback on March 7, 2010 at 12:10 am

Leave a comment




Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 29 other subscribers

Technorati – Blog Search

Add to Technorati Favorites

submit express